3 weeks of Switzerland, from lake to peak

• Billandsuz1
    Participant
    22 posts
    4 October 2021 at 23:06:32 #826160

How could it be that we’ve traveled all over Europe, but never been to Switzerland?! We took care of THAT this September. We’re senior travelers; like to do our own thing; and love interacting with local culture. TIP: learn something of the language(s). I studied Spanish in high school and university, took a couple of years of French; and touched on German in preparation for a trip some time ago. All three helped me connect in Switzerland. We met quite a number of travelers from Brazil and Spanish became the common language. Knowing and using any of the local language never, ever disappoints. TIP: Buy a Swiss Travel Pass before you depart. It’s so easy to use and enables you to hop on almost any transportation! Here’s a quick overview of our trip with a few tips included.

Zurich: We flew into Zurich airport and hopped the train into the city. We found extra-large lockers in the train station for both our bags, loaded up our backpacks and took the walking tour laid out in Rick Steves’ guidebook. We returned to the train station, grabbed our bags and took the train on to Lucerne. Our hotel, the Pickwick, was within walking distance to the train station and situated on the river walk – a perfect location. TIP: We look for accommodations near the train station, Old Town, and the Metro. The Transportation Museum is worth seeing; fun VR experiences and it comes with your Swiss Travel Pass!

Lauterbrunnen: Charming valley between the Alpine peaks! We stayed at Chateau Rosa with a view of the waterfall. We stayed one night and then… left our big bags there, loaded our backpacks with overnight needs and traveled up the mountain to…