Asvice on Campervan touring

Asvice on Campervan touring

Share this page on Facebook Share this page on Google+ Share this page on Twitter Print this page
Create an account to receive an e-mail when someone replies to this thread
BillJones
BillJones
2 posts
Apr 23, 2014 - 1:36 PM

My partner and I are driving to Switzerland from the Uk in June. I am wondering about the advantages/disadvantages of hiring a campervan or using my car and finding accommodation. I can hire a campervan for about 100 GBP (125 euro) per day. We would want to stay in a hotel every few days, for a bit of comfort. We don't want to pre-book too much, as we want the freedom to wander. What do you advise? Are there links to useful information? What experience do forum members have? Thank you. Bill Jones

Arno
Arno
7311 posts
expert &
Apr 26, 2014 - 8:28 AM

Hi Bill,

Thanks for posting here. Unfortunately no experiences have been shared yet; hopefully someone will come across this thread later. I have no experience with campervans myself. I suppose an advantage is the freedom of moving around without packing and unpacking too much. Also you may save a bit of money compared to mid class hotels. A disadvantage could be driving on narrow winding passes with a vehicle you're not familiar with. I am not sure if you have planned that.

Note that the higher passes could still be closed, or temporarily closed in June, due to snow. Although usually most of them are open, and with the warm Winter we've had in Europe it won't be a problem I guess. It's just something to keep an eye on. Our section about traveling by car provides lots of information about how to drive in the mountains, road conditions, etc.