B-Oberland Pass, Geneva/Montreux and Golden Pass

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    15 July 2017 at 19:47:13 #812634

This is an amazing site thank you. Lots of research here but a few questions remain. I am a photographer but the trip is with my brother so not just about photos.

Arrive Geneva 5.45pm Tues Aug 15. this is last day to purchase the discounted half fare card for 33. purchase it and also 6 day Bernes Oberland pass (discounted 25% with half fare card)

Ques1: stay in Geneva for night or train to Montreux for the night? We can train to Lauterbrunnen Weds am via Bern if we stay in Geneva (covered from Bern in BO pass) or use the golden Pano from Montreaux (covered from Saanen in BO). Is Montreaux nicer than Geneva?

Base camp is expected to be Lauterbrunnen (either caravan or Airbnb) as easily accessible to many planned trips from there, leaving Sun AM – so a 1/2 day weds and then 3 full days and a half day return trip to Geneva.

Trips planned from base include Schynige Platte, Kandersteg, Wengen, Murren, Grindelwald, Kleine Scheidegg, Interlaken-Brienze boat trip and possibly Jungfraujoch (extra but discounted using BO card). Planning to use supermarkets for food mostly.

Ques 2: Any other recommendations in this area? Anything to skip? Too much?

return flight from Geneva 6pm sun so plan to take golden pano back to montreaux and then to train to Geneva.

Ques 3: How is the Golden Pano train designated on the timetables? I can’t seem to find it.

Ques 4: Taking the Golden pano train to Montreux is covered to Saanen with the BO pass. Do I pay the extra to Geneva at Saanen or when I board the train?