Itinerary advice for Lucerne and Wengen stay

• Babyblue
    Participant
    7 posts
    26 July 2017 at 1:14:49 #812745

My husband and I, active, early 60’s from the US will be traveling for our first time in Europe this September, I am both excited and anxious about our adventure. Mostly the train travel is my biggest concern as I have very little experience with that mode of transportation. I have done my spread sheet comparing the Swiss Travel Pass and the Half Fare Card and even though we would save money with the half fare card, I feel the ease and convenience of the STP would be in our best interest. I have done my best to plan out our train travel, but am still not at ease with it. Please review my itinerary and offer any suggestions or guidance that might be helpful, thank you.

Day 1 Lucerne: We will be coming into Switzerland from Salzburg. I plan to go from Salzburg to Buchs in order to start using our STP then on to Lucerne. Being that it will be a long travel day, we will check in to the Cascada Hotel then explore Old Town, Chapel Bridge and Dying Lion Monument that day. Is there a recommended walking tour we should follow?

Day 2 Lucerne: Trip to Mt. Rigi using the Classic Round Trip route. Hopefully the weather will cooperate. 9 Towers is planned for the afternoon and enjoying the city in the evening.

Day 3 – 7 Wengen: We will be traveling to Wengen today and spending 4 nights at the Hotel Schoenegg. We will explore Wengen and possibly do the Mannlichen to Klein Scheigegg hike. The other days schedule will be determined by the weather. Our options:

A. Grindelwald: Jungfrau-Eiger Walk, Breitlaueren-Schynige Platt, First-Bachalpsee, Cliff Walk

B. Murren and Schilthorn and ?Northface Trail

C. Lauterbrunnen: Lauterbrunnen-Stetchelberg, Trummelbach Falls

Day 8 Zurich: Travel to Zurich. See Old Town then head to Radisson Blu at the airport for our early morning flight the next day. Thank you for any advice you can provide.