This is my first time to switzerland, please help

This is my first time to switzerland, please help

Share this page on Facebook Share this page on Google+ Share this page on Twitter Print this page
Removed user
Removed user
0 posts
Aug 18, 2011 - 3:13 AM
hello! this is my trip schedule
day 1 geneva airport - lausanne - motreux - vevey - lausanne
day 2 lausanne - luzern
day 3 luzern - interlaken ost - jungfraujoch - interlaken ost
day 4 interlaken ost - grindelwald - first - grindelwald - lauterbrunnen - wengen
day 5 wengen - geneva airport
can you suggest me to buy swiss flexi pass (4 or 5 days?) or swiss half fare card?
also,which kind of ticket is suitable for us to Jungfrajouch, good morning ticket? good afternoon ticket or full fare train ticket or 50% discount train ticket?
Annika
Annika
4417 posts
expert &
Aug 19, 2011 - 5:42 AM
Hello macpycandy, and welcome to the forum. Could you first tell me your country of residence? That's important in deciding which rail pass is most economical, due to different resellers and exchange rates.
Removed user
Removed user
0 posts
Aug 19, 2011 - 6:00 AM
we are 2 peoples and come from hong kong, thanks
Annika
Annika
4417 posts
expert &
Aug 19, 2011 - 9:37 AM
Hello macpycandy. In that case, there's hardly any price difference between a 3 day Swiss Saver Flexi Pass (which would suit your plans better than a 4 or 5 day Flexi Pass) and a Swiss Half Fare Card. This is based on the total price for your itinerary, including the purchase price of the passes, discounts, and so on.

If I were you, I'd opt for the 3 day Swiss Saver Flexi Pass and use free travel days on day 1, day 2 and day 5. The advantage over a Swiss Half Fare Card is that you can travel for free wherever you want on those days, so you're more flexible with this pass. Moreover, public transport in cities such as Geneva, Lausanne, Montreux and Lausanne is for free on these free travel days too, whereas the Swiss Half Fare Card only offers discounts for urban trips.