Using the EUrail select pass

• hansy
    Participant
    14 posts
    11 August 2016 at 7:52:58 #809852

Hi there!

This is my first time to Switzerland. My husband and I will be traveling to Switzerland and Austria in October this year. We bought the EUrail select pass. Apart from the instructions about getting the pass activated and filling out the travel dates, I’m not really sure how two use it. Do will still need to get a ticket for the trains we planned to travel on or can we just hop onto the train with our rail pass?

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Annika
    7104 posts
    11 August 2016 at 8:37:16 #854982

Hi hansy, thanks for your first post here!

Trains that are fully covered don’t require the purchase of additional tickets. You can just hop on and off as you like. Trains, buses, boats and cable cars that are discounted or not covered at all require you to buy tickets. Please find details, including a downloadable coverage map with explanations, at http://www.myswissalps.com/eu railselectpass.

hansy
    Participant
    14 posts
    11 August 2016 at 8:47:51 #854983

Hi Annika,

Thanks so much for your reply ^^

hansy
    Participant
    14 posts
    6 September 2016 at 9:27:29 #854984

Hi Annika,

In your last reply, you mentioned that we can just hop on and off the trains as we like provided the train is fully covered. Do we just sit in whichever seat we like provided we are sitting in the class of our passes? Appreciate your help!!

JoeyA
    Participant
    57 posts
    6 September 2016 at 10:59:14 #854985

Hi Hansy,