4-5 days in late September to take pictures

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    17 August 2016 at 13:53:56 #809912

Greetings. 🙂 I have a work conference in Paris the third week of September and want to stay on for a few days after that. I have never been to mainland Europe and while Paris is an amazing city, I’m a semi-pro landscape photographer and am much more comfortable touring the scenery taking pictures of natural locales.

I am trying to figure out where to go. One option I considered was the Provence area, but I’m not sure late September will be a good time for scenery there (lavender fields are past, etc.) But I thought maybe that September 22-27 or so might be a good time to see the Alps, because maybe the trees would have started to change, and perhaps there would be new snow.

I am a complete newbie and have no idea what to do, so any suggestions on locations would be much appreciated. I have not 100% settled on the Alps, but I’m a “mountain guy” and they have great appeal.

My current plan is simply like this:

• Train from Paris to Zurich (Geneva?) on Sept 22
    • Rent a car and drive all over the place taking pictures, finding cheap accomodations wherever I end up.
    • Fly home from Zurich (Geneva?) on Sept 27 or 28

As you can see, not much of a plan. 🙂 I guess my main questions are:

1. Is this a good time to visit? What should I expect?
    2. How much can I reasonably expect to see in 4 or 5 days? (I should point out that for me a “day” starts an hour before sunrise and can go well into the evening, I pack a lot into a day.)
    3. Zurich or Geneva?
    4. Where should I go? 🙂

Thanks so much for any help. 🙂

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15471 posts
    18 August 2016 at 8:17:40 #855210

Welcome charlesk!