2 week Swiss trip with baby & rental car (Sept)

• Apmer01
    Participant
    6 posts
    11 October 2018 at 15:04:22 #818660

The most important thing: research everything and anything. When I look back at our trip this step was the most imperative in getting most out of our trip.

We are: Two adults in our 20s, and a 10 month old.

A note on driving vs rail: We decided not to buy any passes for the rail as we rented a car for our two weeks. I was a little apprehensive about renting a car in Switzerland as I had read many warning/negatives (expensive, speed cameras etc). None of this was true. I am an average driver (from Florida!!! We have zero laws, no one yields to anyone) and we did fine. Our trip was I think 50 times better due to having a car. Sure trains are great, but car is better. We could get to more remote places and see more scenery on our own pace instead of wasting time waiting for trains etc. With a 10 month old having a car was a necessity as well. Lastly, do take a few train rides ie: panoramic express trains etc.

We arrived in Zurich on September 1st and immediately left for Lucerne after picking up our Travelers WiFi of course (used extensively everywhere for directions etc, and also to backup our 10GB photos we took). Like any 1st world airport has signs everyone, quite easy to follow and the signs are in English too! The train station is within the airport across the main street (see google satellite maps). Download the SBB app, very easy to use, only rely on the app to buy tickets, it saves time and is a life saver.