3 day hut hike in Switzerland – ideas?

• anneit
    Participant
    1 post
    23 April 2023 at 19:10:07 #829667

Hello! I am a student currently living in Zurich. I have some friends coming to visit in July, and we wanted to do a 3-day hut hike together. I’ve done a bit of searching online, and there are many options for possible huts we can stay in, trails to do, etc. It is a bit overwhelming and I am not sure how best to plan a trip like this, so I was hoping maybe someone here might have some advice/recommended routes. Here is what we had in mind for criteria:

– Easy to moderate difficulty

– 4-6 hours of hiking per day

-SAC hut

– 3 days, 2 nights

-Mountains, some body of water would be ideal (lake, river, etc.)

– Preferably within 2.5 hours of Zurich

Thank you in advance for your suggestions and ideas!

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Yolanda
    2363 posts
    23 April 2023 at 19:47:08 #953721

Hi anneit,

Welcome to MySwissAlps.

Have you tried researching via the following links:

Schweizer Alpine Club (SAC) – provides information about mountain huts and suggested tours. Here you can narrow down your search to the specific regions.

Schweiz Mobility – the official hiking network website for Switzerland. Here you can also narrow down your hiking trails to match your capabilities.

I hope this helps, feel free to reach out with any further questions.

Kind regards,

Yolanda

Mschwalbe
    Participant
    107 posts
    8 May 2023 at 0:30:16 #953722

Hi Anneit,

Yes, it can be quite overwhelming when you start planning. I have spent endless (fun!) hours poring over websites, endless maps, blogs, etc. I first did a 12 day hiking trip in 2019, then again in 2022, and am going back in 2023. A part of my heart lies in those beautiful mountains of the Bernese Oberland region!