7 days of Switzerland photography based in Geneva

• Bsphoto22
    Participant
    27 posts
    30 June 2019 at 15:58:45 #822571

I am a 70 year-old gentleman and making my first trip to Switzerland and could use some help from experts. I will be staying in a Geneva hotel for 7 nights and have purchased a 4-day Swiss Travel Pass. How should I make the best use of my time? I am a professional photographer so I’m looking for the very best places to photograph and make lasting memories of my first visit. I definitely want to visit the Matterhorn! Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    30 June 2019 at 22:59:32 #916528

I have been making day excursions from relatives in the Geneva area for 58 years – so it is certainly easy to do with a Swiss Travel Pass.

Start early enough from Geneva and you can get almost anywhere in Switzerland and back in 1 day due to the small size of the country – although the distance and complexity of the journey each day obviously dictates how much time you have at your destination for photography.

I would advise you not to ask ‘open questions’ such as ‘where should I go’, as it’s all down to personal preference. My advice is to research Switzerland in advance with a traditional whole country hard copy guide book and see where attracts you as somewhere to visit. Then simply use the online CFF* timetable planner to see how long it takes to get there from Geneva.

In the past I have travelled across the whole country as far as the eastern border and back in one day although that is a bit OTT and really just to say you’ve achieved it!

More realistically, some of the more obvious day trips I have done from Geneva in my time include:

Engelberg

Zermatt

Zurich

Chur

Andermatt

Luzern(easy one that – there is a direct IR service all the way)

Basel

Mürren