Booking trains with Swiss Travel Pass

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    22 September 2017 at 11:50:30 #813327

Hello I am new to international travel!

My fiance and I are traveling to Switzerland for our honeymoon (we are excited for the beauty) We will be flying into Zurich around 6:15pm and will be traveling straight to Murren for a few days then back to Zurich to fly into Venice. We will be there from October 29th – November 1st. I was going to buy a 4 day travel pass for all of our train rides but was curious if I need to book a specific train in advance or can we just hop on whenever? I have been looking at the http://www.sbb.ch/de/ website and there are several trains to Murren but I wanted to make sure if I bought the pass that we wouldn’t have to buy a “set” time in case of delays.

Also if we are going from Switzerland to Venice on November 1st is our best bet flying out of Zurich or taking trains? I know the trains may be longer but I was curious of the pros/cons.

Thank you so much in advance for the thoughts/help!

-Adam

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    22 September 2017 at 16:46:06 #870067

Hi Adam and welcome to MySwissAlps!

You won’t need to pre-book any trains between Zurich and Murren no – just hop on any train with your Swiss Travel Pass and you are good to go.

I would think the train would be much more convenient and probably quicker in the end I’d bet.

Murren to Venice would be about 8 hours (with a few train changes). Murren just to Zurich is about 4 hours plus getting to the airport an hour or two ahead of time, then flight time then getting into downtown Venice…

I would go on the train – with the Swiss Travel Pass you will only need to buy a ticket from the Swiss border town of Chiasso to Venice.

Lucas

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    24 September 2017 at 15:56:54 #870068