Paris Charles de Gaulle to Lucerne by train

• StephenWilli
    Participant
    8 posts
    19 December 2016 at 15:33:55 #810460

I’m arriving CDG at 10:50 am on March 30, 2017, and want to train to Lucerne, Switzerland that same day. Does a train leave from the CDG Airport, or should I go to another train station in Paris to get a better train connection for Lucerne? I see there will be train changes too. I think I see where a train leaves CDG at 12:45, changing trains in Strasbourg and Basel, arriving in Lucerne at 5:30 pm. I also think I see a train leaving Paris Est at 12:55, changing trains in Strasbourg and Basil, arriving Lucerne at 6:05 pm. There also seems to be other trains to Lucerne leaving Paris Est at 1:55 and 2:55 pm.

Are any of these trains best for me arriving CDG at 10:50 am. This is my first time joining MySwissAlps and posting in the Forum, so I hope this is not too detailed a question. My total itinerary is to then train from Lucerne to Interlaken, then to Montreux, then to Barcelona, then back to Paris for a few days, and am thinking a “Eurail Three Country Select Pass Off Peak” might be best. Thanks. Steve

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15471 posts
    19 December 2016 at 17:30:29 #857478

Welcome to MySwissAlps Steve!

There are a few ways to reach Lucerne:

1. Take local trains/subways to Paris-Gare de Lyon (takes about an hour). From there, take a direct TGV (high speed train) to Switzerland. Get off in Basel and take a train to Lucerne.
    2. Take a high speed train from the airport TGV station called “Aéroport Charles-de-Gaulle TGV” to Strasbourg, change there for Basel, change again in Basel to reach Lucerne. This is often the quickest way as you by-pass Paris but there are only a few services per day via this route as far as I know.