Connection times on Swiss trains for large group

• Dalmascat
    Participant
    11 posts
    29 June 2022 at 20:44:45 #827645

Hello,

I am new to MySwissAlps and I need some help with connection times and finding train station maps! We are visiting Aug. 15 – 18, 2022

Maps of station layouts: Lucern, Lauterbrunnen, Interlaken Ost

Our entire trip on Aug. 15 is: Lucern to Brien Ferry. Brienz Ferry to Interlaken Ost. Interlaken Ost to Lauterbrunen. From Lauterbrunen to Wengen. We will only have a backpack – no luggage. AND we are seniors – so a tad slower…

We are traveling as a group from Lucern to Brienz Ferry. Connection time is 7 mins to the boat. Doable?

When the Ferry reaches Interlaken Ost, the connection time is 12 minutes to Lauterbrunnen. I’m thinking this is not doable even though they say the walk is 2-3 minutes. Getting 33 people off the train and finding the platform… whew! We can easily take the next train. I wish I could find the map of Interlaken Ost.

From Lauterbrunnen to the Cog railway connection time is 5 mins. Is this doable for 33 persons? I didn’t know if you hopped off one side of track and got on the cog railway. I can’t find the layout of the station.

—-

The next day we are going from Wengen to Schilthorn via Grutschalp.

The Birg to Schilthorn connection time is 1 minute. That seems totally unrealistic for a group. But the next time up is 30 minutes later. Looking at Murren to Birg for 10:40 am AND, return trip again there is a 1 minute connection. What do you think?

Thank you so much for your help. Will I get an email response?

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    29 June 2022 at 22:57:07 #943785

Even with a large group, connections times between trains in Switzerland are normally perfectly achievable.