Entering Switzerland with Visa for Austria

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    13 May 2016 at 7:57:49 #809184

Dear all,

I had applied for Austrian visa in the intention of visiting Austria and Switzerland.(first country of travel and maximum stay in Austria). I had to reschedule my trip because of delay in processing visa. I got visa after my travel date! although I had applied well in advance!

I have got Schengen multiple entry visa applied through Austria now. I want to travel directly to Switzerland first, and maximum stay in Austria. Is that possible? Is there any official link available to prove that?

Thanks,

Nisarga

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15483 posts
    13 May 2016 at 8:26:37 #851959

Hello Nisarga,

I’m sorry to hear that! I’m not an expert on this, but as far as I know you should apply for the country in which you’ll spend most days. That’s Austria in your case. Only if you’ll spend an exactly equal amount of days in several countries, you should apply for the Schengen country in which you’ll enter. More information is available at http://www.myswissalps.com/visa.

Slowpoke
    Participant
    7567 posts
    13 May 2016 at 23:48:08 #851960

Hi Dr. Nisarga –

<<“I got visa after my travel date! although I had applied well in advance!”>>

Indeed, that is too bad.

Bureaucracies around the world respond at their chosen pace. ;-(

Slowpoke

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    14 May 2016 at 5:46:10 #851961

Dear Slowoke,

I had applied for Austrian visa on 22/04/2016. Travelling date was fixed for 11.05.2016.