Skiing day tour in Switzerland from Frankfurt Feb.

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    17 February 2019 at 23:13:00 #819975

There are sooooo many options and I’m short on time for a side backcountry ski tour so I’d love a recommendation on 1-2 good spots and and a good travel recommendation to match. Here’s what I’m trying to balance.

1. Best travel / shortest time – where should I leave from and go to? I have a rental car in Heidelberg or I could return it to Frankfurt and depart from there. Car seems like the most flexible affordable and fastest but I’m open to other options if they would save time and not cost much more.

2. Destination – I’m not fancy and prefer rustic over luxury by far. But I do need somewhere established enough to have rental skis, skins and poles. I’d prefer my accommodations to be in the backcountry but if only day tours are available then I can stay in town/resort.

3. Guide/Tour – I’m not a novice but I don’t want to go solo. So I need a location that either has space on a group tour this week (hut to hut would be great) or has a way for people to connect up and travel together. I’m an endurance athlete and love physical challenges, but just don’t have a network of ski buddies like I do back home.

4. Time – I could travel down after 10-11pm on Feb 18th or the morning of the 19th, and have to be at Frankfurt airport on the 22nd by around 5:00 pm for a 7:30pm flight.

sorry, I know that’s a lot and very short notice. Can you help with suggestions by today?

Thanks!!!!

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Snowman
    Participant
    825 posts
    18 February 2019 at 13:16:31 #904464

Hi Tim, and welcome to MySwissAlps,

You obviously don’t know the Swiss mentality. For us, starting to prepare a ski tour just one day in advance is not conceiveable!

Well, here we are. At least you can expect good weather.