Rail pass for 1 week Zurich Zermatt Lucerne

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    5 May 2018 at 8:16:20 #815736

Hi,

Will be visiting Swiss from 12 July to 19 July and need some help in planning as its my first time is Swiss.

We will land in Zurich at 10am. And the plan is to travel to Zermatt to stay for 2 nights. Then from Zermatt to Interlaken or Lucern for another 2 nights and then back to Zurich for 2 more nights before flying off.

We plan to take the train for the 1 week from town to town and plan to visit Jungfrau or Mt Titlis.

What kind of rail pass should I be buying? Its just so confusing with so many sites selling. Is there like one site for me to purchase all my tickets one shot? Really appreciate all you experts advice.

Thanks!

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

rockoyster
    Participant
    8889 posts
    5 May 2018 at 8:34:48 #884269

Hi Liverpudlian and Welcome to MySwissAlps,

Have I got a deal for you. Buy an 8-day Swiss Travel Pass (http://www.myswissalps.com/sw isstravelpass) and all your ticket buying worries are solved.

It’s like the Lord of the Rings for trains – one ticket to rule them all.

Buy it on-line, print at home and just hop on any train you like.

Use the Swiss Train Timetable (goo.gl/PXbqWw) to plan your travel. If you are not familiar with the timetable it will pay to first read the instructions at bit.ly/2IwxrEV.

If that all sounds too easy and you’re the type who enjoys pouring over spreadsheets then you should read “How to choose the best travel pass” (http://www.myswissalps.com/tr ain/ticketspasses/prac tical/chooserailpass), download the handy spreadsheet calculator and do the math.

ps You will be visiting Switzerland. Swiss is the nationality.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    5 May 2018 at 9:09:13 #884270

Hey thanks for the advice. Will definitely be getting the 8 day pass.