Herbriggen to Täsch hike worth it?

• wanderdiva
    Participant
    38 posts
    25 June 2019 at 6:52:05 #822464

Hi,

I will be visiting the Valais region this September for 4 full days to go to Matterhorn, Aletsch glacier, Kandersteg and do some easy hiking around the area. I will be based in Brig.

One of the days, I will be going to Oeschinensee in the first half and am looking at easy walks nearby for the afternoon. Initially, I thought of the Lauchernalp to Fafleralp hike but some sites show this as of moderate level. I am an amateur hiker.

In this site, I found the Herbriggen to Täsch hike which is graded easy. Will this hike have great nature scenery? Will it make sense to go all the way from Kandersteg to do this hike, considering the train ticket is quite high and takes approx an hour to reach.

If not, can you suggest any easy hike in the area with good scenery. Thanks in advance for your help.

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15484 posts
    25 June 2019 at 7:16:42 #916028

Hi Wanderdiva,

I classify this as a nice hike if you’re based in the area. It’s down in the valley so no wide panoramic views but more like forest/pasture/river/village scenery. Can be done in almost any weather, and no cable cars needed to start/end the hike.

If coming from farther away I’d prefer a higher walk if the weather allows, like http://www.myswissalps.com/hi king/giw-gspon. More options are here: http://www.myswissalps.com/va lais/activities.

Slowpoke
    Participant
    7567 posts
    25 June 2019 at 8:20:12 #916029

Hi Wanderdiva –

If you are exploring hikes and are uncertain about the terrain or altitude changes, this map will show you all of the marked trails in the Wanderweg network, in considerable detail. Since it is topographic map, it shows altitudes and steepness: