Hiking from Murren to Kandersteg in 4 days

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    25 September 2018 at 18:25:05 #818509

I am trying to hike from murren to kandersteg in 4 days and 3 nights. I wanted to do a hut to hut and I found a blog somewhere that said that it is a nice easy 3 day hike, but now that I am studying the maps, the trail to Gspaltenhutte might be a little out of mz league mountaineering wise. I was planning to go from murren to Rotstockhutte, to Gspaltenhornhutte, to bluemlisalphut, but I am reconsidering. I still would like to do a hike, but I am not looking for anzthing very intense or difficult. Has anyone done this particular hike, or know how it is? it is also one of mz first adventures solo, and I am not entirely confident in my navigating skills if the trail disappears or if it isnt clearly marked. If anyone has another short hike starting near the interlaken area also, I am happz to hear it.

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Snowman
    Participant
    825 posts
    25 September 2018 at 21:25:39 #896858

Hi Addi, and welcome to MySwissAlps.

Mürren to Rotstockhütte can easily be done in one day (that is, with proper hiking equipment, and the ability to hike 3 hours). Gspaltenhornhütte is not on the way to Kandersteg, and hiking to it is indeed challenging. I have not hiked to Kandersteg but looking at the map that would involve passing at Hohtürli, 2777 m above sea level, I think it’s too late for this year.