How to find a hotel and transport in Switzerland?

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    7 August 2017 at 16:43:13 #812875

Hello! This is my first time using an open forum such as this and I was uncertain which forum to put this in, so I decided this one would work best.

I am a student from the United States who will be studying abroad in Florence this fall semester. I have been abroad a few times before, but this will be my first time alone. For my trip, I am flying in and out of the Zurich airport. I will be staying in Zurich for a few days before catching a bus from Zurich Central Station (Sihlquai Car Park) at 3 am to go to Milan to Florence. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions nowhere to stay for the three nights I will be in Switzerland. I have been researching hostels and hotels and have found a few options, but am uncertain which will work bests. Does anyone have any suggestions?

On top of this, I am uncertain where to stay during the day with all of my luggage until my bus leaves. From my understanding, the bus stop if rather out in the open. I am not opposed to sitting outside for awhile waiting for it, but am rather uncomfortable doing so in the middle of the night. Does anyone know if I would be able to stay inside the train station until closer to my departure time?

I also was wondering if this bus station was deemed safe, as in I should not be concerned about catching a 3 am bus, or if there is anything I should look out for.

Thank you!

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    8 August 2017 at 9:34:17 #867996

Hi abbias and welcome to MySwissAlps!

Do I understand correctly that you are planning to stay in Zurich for the 3 days you are in Switzerland? Or are you hoping to visit another town before returning to Zurich for your bus to Florence?