How to get from Bern to the top of Jungfraujoch

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    9 June 2018 at 22:42:32 #816547

Hey everyone! I am from the US and this is my first time to be staying in Europe and I am so excited to be going to Switzerland!

We have a short amount of time in Switzerland. My fiancé and I will be arrive in Bern on August 12th at 11:57AM and leave August 14th at 1:34PM. So August 13th is our whole day to do this!

I have to say I am confused about trains! I haven’t ridden one yet and need to know stop-for-stop how to get from Bern to Jungfraujoch, ride to the top, and back to Bern. Do I buy all tickets in advance? Do I buy my ticket up Jungfraujoch in advance? If I don’t buy in advance–can you map me out my city stops. What time do you think it would be best for us to head out in the morning? (We are going to do this pretty much regardless of weather. What is it even like up there in August?)

Should I get a Half-Fare pass for one day of traveling?

Thank you for all the help. I don’t even know if I’m asking the right questions. I feel silly for asking all these questions but I have been pouring over the internet for days and am still so confused!

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    9 June 2018 at 23:23:40 #887864

Jungfraujoch will be very expensive, but getting pass for one day in Switzerland won’t really work.

The route is:

Federal main line railway train:

Bern – Interlaken Ost (last stop on the train – do not get off at the first Interlaken station Interlaken West)

narrow gauge mountain train: