How to use Swiss Travel Pass?

Print this page
Create an account to receive an e-mail when someone replies to this thread
This thread is closed. You are welcome to log in and submit a new thread.
ccathy
ccathy
10 posts
Jul 7, 2018 - 8:40 AM

Hi, i'm new to all of this especially travelling in Switzerland, this is my first time. We will be getting Swiss Travel Pass of 3 days, can i know how do we use it? Do we still need to book/purchase train tickets if we already have the pass? Does the pass come in PDF and we can bring the printed copy? Or do we need to get the tickets from train station?

Lucas
Lucas
9644 posts
expert &
Jul 7, 2018 - 3:44 PM in reply to ccathy

Hi ccathy and welcome to MySwissAlps!

Once you have the Swiss Travel Pass, most of the time you'll just hop on the train, bus or cable car or boat and go. You show the pass when asked to. This would be for all trips that are fully covered by the Swiss Travel Pass, noted on the PDF map and our list here: https://www.myswissalp s.com/swisstravelpass/ validity

Any mountain or trip not fully covered by the pass (discounted 25 or 50% for example) a ticket will have to be purchased before getting on the train.

Be sure to read our page on how to use the Swiss Travel Pass here: https://www.myswissalp s.com/swisstravelpass/ howtouse

It is more convenient to buy the Swiss Travel Pass online. It can be emailed to you and printed at home (saving you time at the airport and giving you a copy to print out again in case you lose your pass). https://www.myswissalp s.com/swisstravelpass/ price

pvonk
pvonk
60 posts
Jul 7, 2018 - 6:10 PM in reply to ccathy

Be sure to have your passport on you when traveling with the STP - on (rare?) occasion you will be asked to present it to verify who you are. It did happen to me once or twice on a recent trip.

ccathy
ccathy
10 posts
Jul 8, 2018 - 1:27 AM in reply to pvonk