8 day itinerary for May trip – any insights?

• Balan214
    Participant
    17 posts
    14 March 2017 at 18:04:09 #811074

Hello fellow Swiss adventurers, I posted a rough draft of my itinerary a couple of months ago and have changed a few things since. This here is my finalized comprehensive itinerary (bear with me).

I mostly would like to know if these plans are realistic or are too much of an undertaking. I am physically active and when I am experiencing new things fatigue tends to not bother me at all. Any feedback or suggestions would be appreciated as the date is quickly approaching!

This is my first time traveling to Switzerland and Europe in general.

The trip will be from may 17th to the 26th and I am traveling solo. I have a hobby for photography, hence why I will want to be in certain places at certain times as stated in itinerary. I plan on getting the 8 day Swiss Travel Pass as it seems the most ideal for my needs. I have also done a lot of digging into the transit system and lining up travel times to get the best idea of where ill be and for how long I can be there to make the most of everything.

I’ve looked into weather and conditions for that time of year and from my understanding it can be a hit or a miss depending on where you are regionally. Any insight of weather experience during this month is welcomed. I understand weather is crucial for trips to Switzerland as much of it is scenic views.
    Any ideas to substitute a daytrip in the event of bad weather would be welcomed.

Ill arrive in Zurich the morning of the 18th and leave via rail for Luzern, Luzern will be my first base.

Upon arriving at Luzern I will check in to my hotel and venture around old town and certain sights of Luzern (i understand I most likely be jetlagged, so doing lots the first day may not be ideal). Hopefully getting a good night sleep.