Swiss Half Fare Card, buying tickets online

• Johs
    Participant
    4 posts
    3 June 2022 at 8:34:13 #827397

Hello. I bought a Swiss Half Fare Card at the airport when I came to Switzerland. I’m completely new to this. I want to buy tickets online. How can I use my Half Fare Card when doing this?

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    3 June 2022 at 9:08:46 #942821

It’s just as easy to go to your nearest station and use one of the standard Swiss automatic ticket machines.

If you do want to buy online you just buy the half fare ticket. You only need your half fare card when the train staff come and check your ticket during a journey

Johs
    Participant
    4 posts
    3 June 2022 at 9:19:28 #942822

Thank you for answering. I have downloaded the SBB app and I have checked the Half-Fare travelcard box, but the prices don’t seem to change to half price. If I check the prices without logging in, they are the same. How do I get the prices to 50%?

Anna
    6382 posts
    3 June 2022 at 10:32:11 #942823

Hi Johs,

Welcome to MySwissAlps.

You can find more information about how to use the SBB timetable here: http://www.myswissalps.com/timetable, and about using the Swiss Half Fare Card here: https://www.myswissalps.com/swisshalffarecard/howtouse.

If you have the SBB Mobile App, before you can purchase tickets from the app, you need to create an account, set your profile and payment method, and select half-fare as your ticket option.

Let us know if you need more info.

Regards,

Anna

Johs
    Participant
    4 posts
    3 June 2022 at 10:49:49 #942824

Hi Anna,

Thank you for the answer.