Train connection in 1 min in Lucerne?

• TerriMelb
    Participant
    20 posts
    19 January 2023 at 1:15:39 #828913

Seeking some further help. I am aware that swiss trains are famous for running on time. I am looking at connections in Luzern to Interlaken. Our train from Germany will arrive on Platform 7 and depart Platform 13 just 1 minute later. I assume a 1 minute turnaround, is unrealistic, noting we each have a modest suitcase. Would love your advice. The next train leaves one hour later so it would be a big bonus if we could make the connection.

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    19 January 2023 at 6:52:41 #949840

I am working with SBB in Lucerne; besides working as a ticket inspector, I work as train supervisor in the Lucerne station. As supervisor, one of my duties is to manage train connections and to assure them by – if possible – holding back trains if one is late. Usually, we can delay a connecting service by 1-2 minutes to guarantee connections. So in a perfect world, yes the connection is doable because distances in the Lucerne station are very short.

Now, with the EC151 it is different. I should even say, this train is the most unreliable train connection in the entire Swiss rail network. An unreliable Italian carriage meets German railway punctuality, not a good precondition. In other words, this train is always late; if it is running on time, it’s rather an exception while the Swiss rail’s reputation on punctuality is normally the contrary. It happens often that the train is rerouted nonstop from Basel to Arth-Goldau and not serving Lucerne station at all, to make up the delay. In this case, it stops next in Arth-Goldau and you will have to travel from there back to Lucerne using another train.

Just a little delay history of the last 2 days:

• 18. Jan: 6 minutes
    • 17. Jan: 23 minutes