Visiting Brig and Chur – Making the most of it

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    7 December 2017 at 20:01:47 #813793

Hi

I’ve just found the forum and would be very grateful for any tips you can give me.

My husband and I are doing the following trip to Switzerland in January 2018. I am a complete newbie to Switzerland and have booked this trip as a surprise for his 60th birthday. I am so looking forward to it so I want to make the most of our time there and would be grateful for tips and ideas on how to make this very special for him.

We are arriving at Zurich airport from London then travelling by train to Brig staying for two nights. We will then travel on the Glacier Express (on his birthday) to Chur where we will stay for three nights. We will use one of our days in Chur to make the trip to Tirano on the Bernina Express. We will then return to Zurich from Chur. All accommodation and train travel has been booked.

I want to incorporate trips on cable cars and I understand both Brig and Chur have cable cars that are easily accessible. I have read about the Brigenbad thermal baths in Brig. This is of particular interest but I am just wondering what this is like in January. Can we get from Brig to the baths easily and would this be by bus? It may sound rather silly, but there is little information on the website about visiting in Winter. I’m just looking at the practicalities of taking my clothes off and walking outside! Do you need to take towels and bathrobes are are these provided?

Obviously, good waterproof walking boots and thermal underwear will be the order of the day, but does anyone have any guidance of the clothes to wear. The trains presumably will be warm, but then we have to get off. I guess layering is the best option.

As I say, I am a newbie and not well travelled. Any thoughts would be gratefully received.

Many thanks.