Weather in Spiez and Bern in May, June

• Coni
    Participant
    8 posts
    12 June 2022 at 19:36:29 #827486

I am just beginning to plan a 2 week trip to Switzerland and know that we will be staying in Spiez. I am debating between May and June (2023). What type of differences in weather are likely between the two months? Searching the internet for historical data/temps for those months during 2021, I get a wide variety of temperatures and rain amounts for the same date, depending on the website – so I don’t know which source is accurate. Also, will train and boat tours probably be operating similar schedules during both of those months? Thanks for your help.

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Anna
    6274 posts
    13 June 2022 at 4:00:48 #943188

Hi Coni,

Welcome to MySwissAlps.

If you’re planning to stay in Spiez, I don’t think it makes a big difference if you plan your trip in May or June. Boat and train schedules are similar in both months.

If your base is in the mountains such as Wengen and Grindelwald, June would be a better option — that’s when the gondola and cable cars start operating again for the summer season.

Going by this year’s weather; May should be reasonably warm (some days already reaching close to 30 degree Celcius this year) and June even warmer, with some rain showers in between.

You can find more information about the weather and when is the best time to visit from the following links:

Weather in Switzerland

Best time to visit

Hope this helps you to finalize your trip.

Regards,

Anna

JohnYorks
    Participant
    117 posts
    13 June 2022 at 8:41:46 #943189

I stayed in the Spiez area in the second week of June in 2018.