Where to stay at low season end of April?

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    1 March 2016 at 10:39:59 #808513

I’ll be traveling to Switzerland from Austria end of April. This is my first time traveling. There’s a few places that i would love to visit.

Zurich

Interlaken

Luzern

Jungfraujoch

Zermatt

I have been advised not to stay in Interlaken town as it’s just like any other town and it’s a transit town. I was advised to stay at places like Grindelwald, Lauterbrunnen, etc. I would love to stay at those mountain villages and i love the view. Others have cautioned me that it’s very low peak season where most hotels and restaurants and cable car/coghweel railway are closed. They advised to stay over in Interlaken as its a town and most shops are open even during low season

Can anyone suggest a place i can make base ?? I’ll be in Switzerland for a week till 1st week of May

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15483 posts
    1 March 2016 at 11:47:48 #848896

Welcome kenlee6!

If you are willing to travel a lot you can do day trips to Luzern, Zermatt and Jungfraujoch from Interlaken. You could first visit Zurich after Austria and then proceed to Interlaken the next day. Also you can visit Luzern on the way from Zurich to Interlaken if you just want to visit the old town center.

Whether to stay in Interlaken or one of the smaller villages is a personal choice. Interlaken is larger so more activity in terms of shops and hotels. Also it offers good train connections. It is not in the mountains and there’s not a lot to see in the town itself. So it you prefer the Alpine feeling and views you’d better pick one of the other towns. It will be quiet but people do live there so not everything will be closed. Grindelwald is the largest of the smaller towns, so that might be a good choice.