How to go to Grindelwald from Geneva?

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    10 April 2017 at 11:39:54 #811344

Dear everyone,

I’ll be in Geneva on May 16. From Geneva, I’m planning to go to Grindelwald to take the cogwheels and see the ice museum. Is there anyone one here who can help me with the exact transportation route from Geneva to Grindelwald?

After Grindelwald, I’m planning to go up north specifically to Lincolnweg 23 CH-8840 Einsiedeln . What transportation should I take?

This is my first time in Switzerland and I have no single idea regarding the transporation services and routes there.

I also would like to know how much the cogwheel ride costs.

Thank you.

Angking

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    10 April 2017 at 13:20:12 #861230

Hi Angking – welcome to MySwissAlps!

You can use the SBB (Swiss Railways) online timetable to find the route from Geneva to Grindelwald.

http://www.myswissalps.com/ti metable

Getting from Grindelwald to Lincolnweg 23 in Einsiedeln involves getting a series of trains from Grindelwald to Einsiedeln, then getting bus #553 from Einsiedeln railway station to the bus stop called “Einsiedeln, Friedhof” (3 stops, about 4 minutes). From there, it is a short walk (see attached screenshot from Google Maps). I have also attached a screenshot of what information to enter into the SBB timetable to find suitable connections from Grindelwald to Lincolnweg 23 in Einsiedeln.

If you are not planning to buy any sort of transport pass or the Swiss Half Fare Card, a return trip to Jungfraujoch from Grindelwald for an adult will cost CHF 190. Or if you can meet the requirements and constraints of the “Good Morning” ticket, the cost would be CHF 145.

http://www.jungfrau.ch/shop/e n/tickets/bergbahn/ang ebote/jungfraujoch-top-of-europe/good-morning-ticket-jungfraujoch