Off-Piste skiing May/June from Wengen

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    5 November 2016 at 13:33:28 #810319

We have use of a house in Wengen but cant get there until May – after ski season. Here’s my question, what is the snowpack like in May/June from Wengen on up? How high can we get on trains and Luftseilbahnen and how low can we ski? All assuming an average snow year. We’re very comfortable skinning up higher but prefer not to earn all of our elevation.

THANKS!

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15483 posts
    6 November 2016 at 10:49:48 #856952

Hi Vermonter, welcome to MySwissAlps!

I’m not an expert on this, but May/June is not the best time for skiing. Winter season is from mid December to mid April, depending on the weather and season. I doubt if there will be any options at all. There will be snow in higher terrain, but there won’t be prepared pistes or ski lifts. Off piste skiing would indeed be the only option, but I can’t think of places where it’s reasonably safe to do so. You’d best ask Wengen Tourism for tips. If there are options, they will know for sure.

The trains and some cableways will operate and can get you as high as Jungfraujoch at 3400 m. There is snow all year round, but skiing without a guide on the glacier is very dangerous. There are guided tours though, but I’m not sure if there are ski tours as well. The Wengen tourist office will be able to get you more details.

I hope this gets you started!

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    6 November 2016 at 12:21:39 #856953

Thank you. We were once ski mountaineers so comfortable on challenging terrain but we prefer not to deal with glaciers on this trip. I’ll study up on this option more.