Is the Traveler”s Wifi connection secure?

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    25 June 2018 at 12:45:47 #816883

Hi, does Traveler’s Wifi provide you with a “secure network connection”? I don’t see this addressed on their website of in the previous threads about this device. However, I am not very tech savvy and may have missed it. We will be spending a few days each in France, Switzerland, Germany, Italy, and Spain, so were looking at getting the global one.

Thank you for your help.

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15484 posts
    25 June 2018 at 14:18:46 #889421

Hi Eurodani,

Yes, the connection is secure. TravelersWifi is basically the same as your Wifi at home: you need a password to be able to connect to it. It is not an open/unsecured network.

As for securely connecting to websites (SSL, https): that is not related to how you connect to the internet, but it depends on the websites you visit. Most browsers show a green padlock next to the address bar if the connection to the current website is encrypted. This does not mean that the site is safe (anyone can configure encrypted connections), but it does mean that nobody can look into the data you exchange with that site. So it’s about improved privacy, and about safety if it comes to entering credit card data for example. You should see this padlock for MySwissAlps as well.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    25 June 2018 at 16:09:32 #889422

Thank you!

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    26 June 2018 at 4:41:53 #889423

Dear All,