Do we lose contacts if we install a Swiss SIM card

• Pickergal
    Participant
    88 posts
    10 September 2017 at 21:54:49 #813234

We will be arriving in Switzerland on Saturday. We cannot wait! We plan on getting the Salt Sim Card in the Zurich airport. Our question is: when they install the sim card in our phone will we lose our contacts, any downloaded books and downloaded documents from our phones? If so, do they try to reinstall that info to their sim card? Thank you for your help.

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    10 September 2017 at 23:13:26 #869702

>> when they install the sim card in our phone will we lose our contacts

I’m no expert on this, but this is what I understand from my own experience with several phones, SIM cards and SD cards. The phones I have experience with do not include an iPhone.

If your contacts are stored on your SIM card, and the SIM card is replaced, then you will “lose” your contacts until the original SIM card is put back into the phone. Before changing the SIM, copy your contacts from the SIM card to the inbuilt memory on the phone, and they should then remain available after the new SIM goes in.

>> any downloaded books and downloaded documents from our phones?

Usually those things are not installed on the SIM card, but rather on an SD card (if you have one installed) or to the phone’s own memory, so changing the SIM card should not affect them.

However, to be on the safe side, I would back up your contacts and other data on your phone before leaving home, and have a copy of your key contacts in another form, e.g. on paper.

Alpenrose

Pickergal
    Participant
    88 posts
    11 September 2017 at 0:48:50 #869703

Alpenrose666,

Thank you for your speedy reply. We will try to figure out whether that info is stored on our sd card, internal memory or the sim card. Thank you for your help.

Arno