A few questions on the Swiss Rail Pass

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    15 May 2015 at 7:48:03 #807223

Hello all. I am a newbie to this forum so hopefully my questions make sense.

Firstly, I would like to know how long prior to using a Swiss Pass for the first time I can purchase it? I seem to remember something about six months but couldn’t find any supporting info.

Secondly, on the 8th day of our 8-day pass, we plan to travel from Brienz to Cinque Terre via Milano.

I have found one recommended route that suggests: Brienz –> Interlaken Ost –> Spiez –> Milano Centrale.

1. Is this the quickest route or are there better ways to get to Milan?

2. Assuming this is the best route, will the Swiss Pass cover us only to Spiez? Do we need to book a train from Spiez to Milano through TrenItalia?

Any help, suggestions or recommendations gratefully accepted.

Thank you in advance and best regards, Steve

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15482 posts
    15 May 2015 at 9:59:29 #843089

Hi Steve,

Welcome, and thanks for posting! A Swiss Travel Pass can usually be ordered 6 months in advance. Some resellers won’t send the pass until a few weeks before you need it, unless requested otherwise. So it’s a bit different per reseller. When do you plan to start traveling?

1. Yes, that’s the quickest route. The timetable will suggest that route if you request travel info.

2. The Swiss Travel Pass covers all of Switzerland, so you only need a ticket from the Italian border onwards (see the pass map). In this case, the border is Domodossola. You can buy the pass and the additional ticket on the same website in one order. In your case it’s the Australian website, please see here:

Further points of sale can be found here: