Base locations Switzerland before going to Italy

Print this page
Create an account to receive an e-mail when someone replies to this thread
Kota
Kota
2 posts
Jun 12, 2019 - 1:41 AM

Hello !

This is my first time posting here, but I 've greatly enjoyed reading all the content and advice!

I am very confused about the order in which we should be seeing things, so I am hoping for some suggestions. We will be using the rails I think to travel around, rather than renting a car.

Our plane arrives in Zurich in the early morning; and departs from Milan.

Unfortunately, we may be tired when we arrive - But I would love to see a bit of Lucerne if we could, even with our luggage in tow; and maybe have a restful meal.

I've been studying the maps, and it seems our trip has three sections.

Listed below are all the activities or things my group would like to see, but I know we can't do all :)

2 Nights: Bern (old city) ,Oberhofen Castle on Thun, Lavaux Vineyard Terraces, Rochers de Nye Scenic Peak ,Lake Geneva boat tour, Lutry, Montreux and Castle. Interests include Watchmaking , Chocolate, Cheese, Beer, Craftsman / Workshops. It would be wonderful if a base city can be suggested for this section of our trip! Also, should this section be the first or second part of our trip?

2 Nights: Jungfraujoch ; Interlaken / Wengen / Grindelwald / Lauterbrunner

Alsetch Glacier ; Truemmlbach Falls; Aare gorge; Rosenlaui Glacier Gorge. Interests include an Alpine Village Horse and Buggy ride, and Scenic Train rides of course :) I would love to see the Matterhorn, but it didn't seem doable to me.

1 Night: Bellinzona - Castles . I think this will be the third part of our trip since it seems geographically logical .

Then into Italy for the last section : Lake Como and Leaving from Milan

Thanks so much for your help !

Kota

Arno
Arno
13311 posts
expert &
Jun 12, 2019 - 5:55 AM

Hi Kota,