3 Days in Lucerne in July – how to plan?

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    27 June 2016 at 9:06:55 #809547

Hello Team,

I am reaching Zurich with my family (4 adults and 2 kids-9yr and 4 yr) from Paris on 8th July at 11:30 AM.

I have my hotel booked in Lucerne from 8th to 10th July. Check out is on 11th at 8 AM.

I have planned to visit below places and want your help in understanding if the plan is good/feasible or not. Any changes/suggestions are most welcome as this is my first time in Switzerland

8 July : Paris–>Reach Zurich 2pm–> Keep stuff on Railway station and visit Rhine Fall–>Buy Swiss pass in Zurich station. After visiting Rhine falls, I plan to go to Lucerne hotel by 7 PM train ? Is this possible ?

9th July : start in morning 9 AM from Lucerne and visit Mount Rigi and come back…what else I can do ?

10th July: start in morning 9 AM from Lucerne and visit Mt. Titlis and Mt. Jungfrau, Thun Lake. is this possible to cover all in one day ?

11th July : start morning 8 am to Milan

Basically I have not gone deep to plan trip by boat etc. So if you can plan a good itenary for me covering the above said places, would be great help !!

Thanks

Gaurav

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15483 posts
    27 June 2016 at 11:12:57 #853528

Hi Gaurav, thank you for your first post here!

Your plan for July 8 is doable. However, you have very little time and personally I would skip Zurich and the Rhine Fall and focus on the Lucerne area. Unlike Zurich, Lucerne is very close to the mountains. And it offers much more than you’ll be able to do in 3 days. I would get off the train from Paris in Basel (the Swiss border) and take a direct train to Lucerne from there.