Regional-Pass Berner Oberland 1 week Lauterbrunnen

• Removed user
    Participant
    72625 posts
    27 May 2014 at 12:13:49 #806395

We are staying in Lauterbrunnen for one week, flying in from Zurich. We plan to hike 3-4 days, day trip to Bern, maybe the Lakes area, and, weather permitting, the Jungfraujoch. I am trying to decide if it makes sense to buy the regional pass. I’ve run through a couple of sample itineraries, but since I don’t know what hikes we’ll be taking due to weather, I can’t tell if it it would be cost effective to buy a half fare card and then buy tickets as we go, or buy the regional pass as well. Last night I thought it might make sense to buy a regular ticket from Zurich to Luzern, and then use a 6 day regional pass for the balance. Last day out take a one way from Lauterbrunnen to the airport. Any thoughts? I’m a tax attorney by training and the decision process for these passes has brought me to my knees!!!

Leaving this Friday!!!Thanks for any thoughts.

• Effortlessly learn from the questions and answers in the forum. Receive a daily e-mail with new discussions.

Arno
    15482 posts
    27 May 2014 at 14:08:36 #840076

Hi curlygrrrl,

Yes, it can be quite a challenge to choose. This page should help. Did you already check that out? The key is to first have a detailed itinerary, then do the math. But you are right that the weather may dictate what the options are. However, you will probably still travel in bad weather, just to different locations. A boat trip can still be enjoyable in light rain, for example.