14-days Lucerne, Bern, Geneva, Interlaken in Sep

• Asa_C
    Participant
    10 posts
    19 July 2022 at 10:13:03 #827813

Hello! I (21f) was hoping to get some help going over my itinerary for a 14-day trip in September that I will be doing solo. I have never done something like this before so it’s quite intimidating. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Here is what I have for each of my bases:

Day 1 Zurich

-Arrive in Zurich around 10:30am

-Visit Rhine Falls and Schaffhausen

-Use the remaining time in evening/next morning to see the city

Day 2-3 Lucerne

-Mt. Pilates, possibly do a rodelbahn

-Lake Lungern and a small hike to Dundelbachfall

-Explore town, Chapel Bridge, Museggmauer wall/towers

Day 4-6 Bern

-Explore old town and Zytglogge clock, Cathedral of Bern

-Matterhorn/Zermatt and 5 Lakes Hike

-Lake Oeschinensee and Rodelbahn

Day 7-8 Geneva

-Carouge center and market (wed/sat)

-Marché aux Puces de Plainpalais (sat/sun)

-Geneva water fountain

-Conservatory and Botanical Garden

Day 9-12 Interlaken

-Explore Interlaken/Unterseen

-Boat to Iseltwald

-First Cliff Walk and First mountain cart

-Lauterbrunnen and Staubbauch Falls

-Jungfraujoch and Ice Palace

-Sigriswil Panoramic Bride

-Paraglide Interlaken

This leaves me with 2 nights and 3 days to throw in somewhere. However, on my last day I fly out of Zurich at 1:40pm and the day before that I need to get a COVID test in order to fly back to the US. With the extra time though, I was thinking of canyoning Grimsel while in Interlaken or doing a trip to Montreux from Geneva. Or, does my itinerary have too much going on, and would it be best to spend an extra day somewhere?

Sidenote- I’m not sure if I’m happy with the Geneva section for a couple reasons: it’s a lot of city, I won’t be in town during the weekend markets, and I was debating switching it out for time spent more east in Lugano and a trip to Verzaska Valley instead. Thoughts?